Annual Election of ACM@UIOWA - Spring 2020

This Post Last Updated: Tuesday, April 14, 2020


Here, the candidates are listed in alphabetical order. They will be randomized on the ballot.

Position Nominee Nominee Nominee
President Andrew Murley Rohan Gupta  
Vice President Andrew Murley Anthony Farino Rohan Gupta
Secretary-Treasurer Rohan Gupta    
Webmaster Anthony Farino    
Events Chair Rohan Gupta    


Nominations close on Wednesday, April 22nd at 11:59PM

Voting will be held via an online form that will be sent to each member's email on Thursday, April 23rd with the deadline to vote being Friday, April 24th at 11:59PM. Results will be announced no later than Monday, April 27th. 

Election Protocol

Approved by the ACM@UIOWA Officers on ?


Annual Election - NEED TO KNOW DETAILS

WHEN:  Thursday, April 23rd through Friday, April 24th at 11:59PM

WHERE: online via form sent by email

WHAT: Elections for the five ACM@UIOWA officer positions: President, Vice-President, Secretary-Treasurer, Webmaster, and Events Chair. These are year-long positions, and will be held from Fall 2020 - Spring 2021. More info can be found in the ACM@UIOWA Constitution.


WHO CAN RUN: All ACM@UIOWA chapter Members (i.e. those who have paid their 2019-20 academic year chapter dues) as of Wednesday, April 22, 2020 at 11:59pm are eligible to run in the election. 

Note: The ACM@UIOWA Constitution allows for a unanimous veto by current Officers of any nomination for President. This can be appealed to the Chapter Sponsor, who can override it if deemed cruel or vindictive. All other nominations are fair game to eligible candidates.

HOW TO RUN: A nomination form will be sent via email. It is possible to run for multiple positions. Be prepared to either submit a written speech or recorded video that will be displayed next to your name on the internet ballot.


WHO IS ELLIGIBLE TO VOTE: All ACM@UIOWA Members (i.e. those who have paid their yearly academic dues) as of Wednesday, April 15, 2020 at 11:59pm.

VOTING: ACM@UIOWA will be utilizing instant-runoff elections, which involves ranking candidates in order of preference. The process mimics a series of runoff elections, with the bottom candidate being removed each time. All ballots will be secret. 


WINNING: Following the process of instant-runoff elections, the first candidate to reach 50%+1 of votes cast in a round of voting will be declared the winner.

For a simple answer, you can stop reading here, but there are some complications we need to cover in case they come up.

ROUNDS OF VOTING: Votes for all positions being voted on will be cast simultaneously, and when voting closes, tallied simultaneously. The first round of voting will involve all positions, by default. Once the final results are calculated, the results for all positions - including any voting redistribution - will be publicly announced simultaneously. All Winners will either accept/decline their positions. Any positions which are yet unfilled at the end of the round, will proceed to a new round involving simultaneous re-tallying, which will include special conditions based on the nature of the re-tally (see: Special Results)

SPECIAL RESULT - CANDIDATE WINS MULTIPLE POSITIONS: If a candidate wins multiple positions, they will be allowed to accept whichever position they wish to fill, but will not (purposefully) be informed of the consequences (i.e. who will win the other position in their stead). For elections they won but did not accept, the instant runoff procedure will be re-run, but with a redistribution of their votes in the first round. For elections they lost, their votes will only be redistributed if the procedure has to be re-run because of another Special Result (i.e. once someone "wins" and "accepts" a position, they cannot unwin it).

SPECIAL RESULT - TIE: In the event of a tie, the final two candidates will be re-voted on. If the tie persists a second time, the President will cast, change, or rescind their vote (depending if they voted or did not) based on the advice of their Officers, effectively deciding the election. 

SPECIAL RESULT - CANDIDATE DECLINES: If a candidate declines the position they won, their votes will be redistributed in a new round of instant runoff procedure.

IN THE EVENT OF VACANCIES FOLLOWING THE ANNUAL ELECTION: Nominations for a Special Election will open immediately, and eligibility will be extended to all who achieve ACM@UIOWA Member status by the day of the election. Voting eligibility will likewise be extended. If such a scenario arises, more details will be promulgated by the day following the regular election.